Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at George H. and Ella M. Rodgers Memorial Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
George H. and Ella M. Rodgers Memorial Library Y ACEVEDO 34510010907523 Teen Area - Fiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062662804
  • ISBN: 0062662805
  • Physical Description: 361 pages ; 22 cm
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2018]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: Harlem. Ever since her body grew into curves, Xiomara Batista has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. She pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers-- especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. Mami is determined to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, and Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. When she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she can't stop thinking about performing her poems.
Subject: Young adult fiction
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) Fiction
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) Juvenile fiction
Interpersonal relations Fiction
Self-esteem Fiction
Adolescence Fiction
Schools Fiction
Poetry slams Fiction
Poets Fiction
High school students Fiction
Dominican Americans Fiction
Teenage girls Fiction
Interpersonal relations Juvenile fiction
Self-esteem Juvenile fiction
Adolescence Juvenile fiction
Schools Juvenile fiction
Poetry slams Juvenile fiction
Poets Juvenile fiction
High school students Juvenile fiction
Dominican Americans Juvenile fiction
Teenage girls Juvenile fiction
Genre: Novels in verse

  • Baker & Taylor
    The daughter of devout immigrants discovers the power of slam poetry and begins participating in a school club as part of her effort to understand her mother's strict religious beliefs and her own developing relationship to the world. A first novel. 75,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.
  • Baker & Taylor
    When Xiomara Batista, who pours all her frustrations and passion into poetry, is invited to join the school slam poetry club, she struggles with her mother's expectations and her need to be heard.
  • HARPERCOLL

    Winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!

    Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

    Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

    But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

    With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems.

    Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

    “Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

    “An incredibly potent debut.” Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

    “Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources